Is Welling AI Free? Welling Pricing, Trial and Refund Rules

Welling AI is not free: its US App Store listing shows Welling Premium at $22.99 a month or $119.99 a year, and says plainly, "You need a subscription plan to access Welling's features." The download costs nothing. Logging a meal, asking the coach a question or seeing your macros all need a paid plan, usually after a 7-day free trial.
I work on the NutriScan team, which makes a competing AI food tracker, so read this with that in mind. Every number below comes from Welling's own pages, the App Store and Google Play listings, or a study I link to. Where Welling's pages disagree with each other, I show both and tell you which one matches what you will be charged.
Prices checked on October 14, 2026 on the US, UK, Singapore and India App Store listings, the US Google Play listing, Welling's FAQ, terms of service and homepage, and three Welling articles (published March 31 and June 11, 2026). Taxes may be added at checkout, depending on your country.
TL;DR - Welling AI Pricing
- No free plan. Both store listings say you need a subscription to use the app.
- US price list: monthly $22.99, $19.99 or $9.49; 3 months $39.99; annual $119.99, $99.99, $79.99 or $59.00.
- Free trial: 7 days for new users, "typically" on longer plans. Some users report seeing none.
- Refunds: Welling's terms say "All purchases are non-refundable." Ask Apple or Google instead.
- Canceling: in the App Store or Google Play. Deleting the app does not stop billing.
IMPORTANT
Your Welling pricing check at a glance.
Four stops, and the last one decides whether your food log can leave with you.
⏱️ Progress 0/4 • ~0 minutes in • Keep going
⏳ Step 1: The price list and a year of costs
⏳ Step 2: Trial, refunds and canceling
⏳ Step 3: Features, reviews and research
🔍 The line in Welling's FAQ that its own June update contradicts (revealed near the end)
The quick answer: Welling is paid only
Three things about Welling cost nothing:
- The download. The App Store listing and the Google Play listing both show the app as free with in-app purchases.
- The setup questions. You can answer the intake form (goal, body data, diet preferences) before you see a price.
- The free trial, if your plan has one. Welling's terms of service say: "We offer a 7-day free trial to new users who register with the Services."
After that, everything is paid. The Google Play listing ends its feature list with the same line as the App Store: "You need a subscription plan to access Welling's features." There is no free tier that lets you log a set number of meals a day, and no ad-supported version.
So why does Welling's homepage say "Free to start"? That phrase sits in the homepage's search description on welling.ai, and it refers to the free download and the trial. It does not mean a free plan, as the store listings make clear.
Welling price list for 2026
Apple shows up to 10 in-app purchase entries on a listing. Welling's US listing fills all 10, and every one is a version of "Welling Premium." There is only one product. The differences are billing length and which offer you are shown.
US prices
| Plan | Prices listed | Cost per month |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly Welling Premium | $22.99, $19.99, $9.49 | $9.49 to $22.99 |
| 3 Months Welling Premium | $39.99 (listed twice) | about $13.33 |
| Annual Welling Premium | $119.99 (listed twice), $99.99, $79.99, $59.00 | about $4.92 to $10.00 |
All prices come from the "In-App Purchases" block on the US App Store page, checked October 14, 2026. The listing does not say which price goes with which offer. The highest prices, $22.99 and $119.99, are the ones recent reviewers say they were charged, so treat those as the standard prices and the lower ones as discounts or older price points.
Prices in other countries
Welling AI Pte. Ltd. is a Singapore company, and its prices change by country, as its own review article notes ("Pricing varies slightly by country"). Here are the ranges from four App Store listings on the same day:
| Store | Monthly | 3 months | Annual |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $9.49 to $22.99 | $39.99 | $59.00 to $119.99 |
| United Kingdom | £9.99 to £19.99 | £19.99 to £39.99 | £69.99 to £119.99 |
| Singapore | S$24.98 to S$29.98 | S$29.98 to S$59.98 | S$59.98 to S$119.98 |
| India | ₹749 to ₹1,799 | ₹1,499 to ₹3,599 | ₹3,999 to ₹9,499 |
Each row comes from the In-App Purchases block on that country's App Store page (UK, Singapore, India). The UK top annual price, £119.99, is the same number as the US one in a stronger currency.
What about the 6-month plan?
Welling's FAQ says: "We typically offer free trial periods on our 6-month and annual calorie tracking subscription plans." None of the four App Store listings I checked shows a 6-month plan. The App Store description lists three: Yearly, 3 Months and Monthly. Do not count on one.
Why you will see different Welling prices online
Search "Welling AI price" and you will find at least four answers, three of them on Welling's own website:
- "$15 per month with a full year option at around $120." This is in Welling's write-up of a Dr. Marc Morris video review, published March 31, 2026.
- "Around $20 per month or $100 for the full year." This is in a second Welling article about the same reviewer, also published March 31, 2026.
- "Welling free plan includes AI photo, chat, and voice logging." This is in Welling's Welling vs Lose It comparison, published June 11, 2026. Its FAQ section answers "Is Welling free to use like Lose It?" with "Yes."
- $22.99 a month and $119.99 a year. This is the top of the current US App Store price list, and it matches what reviewers in August 2026 say they paid.
The free-plan claim conflicts with both store listings, which say a subscription is required, and with Apple's review feed, where users from 2024 to 2026 complain that there is no free version. Trust the store price list and the paywall in the app over any article, including this one, and check again before you pay.

Four prices for one app is a lot to sort through. The store listing is the one that bills you.

What a month and a year of Welling cost
Using the top US prices from the App Store listing:
| How you pay | Price | Cost for 12 months |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly, all year | $22.99 x 12 | $275.88 |
| 3 months, four times | $39.99 x 4 | $159.96 |
| Annual | $119.99 | $119.99 |
| Annual at the lowest listed price | $59.00 | $59.00 |

Figure 1: Cost of 12 months of Welling Premium by plan, from US App Store prices on October 14, 2026.
At Welling's US prices, the annual plan costs 57% less than paying monthly for a full year. The 3-month plan is the middle option: $39.99 is less than two months at $22.99, so if you want more than six weeks but are not sure about a year, it is the cheapest way to test.
How Welling compares on price
At $119.99 a year, Welling sits at the high end of AI calorie trackers. For comparison, our Cal AI pricing guide covers a photo-first rival, and our Lose It pricing guide covers an app that does have a free tier. If a free tier matters to you, those are the better places to start.
IMPORTANT
Checkpoint: you know what Welling costs.
Next up is what happens when the trial ends or you want your money back.
⏱️ Progress 1/4 • ~3 minutes in • Keep going
✅ Step 1: The price list and a year of costs (done)
👉 Step 2: Trial, refunds and canceling (you're here)
⏳ Step 3: Features, reviews and research
🧩 The FAQ line Welling's own June update contradicts (coming soon)
The free trial: 7 days, but not on every plan
Welling's terms promise "a 7-day free trial to new users," after which "the account will be charged according to the user's chosen subscription." The FAQ is less firm: trials are "typically" offered on longer plans.
In practice, the trial has not always been there. In Apple's US review feed, a November 2024 review titled "No trial?" says there was "no free trial at all" after the setup questions. Other reviews from 2024 to 2026 describe being asked to pay right after a long setup. At least 8 of the 50 most recent US reviews complain that the app is paid only or that the price appears after setup.
Three rules to follow:
- Look for the words "free trial" on the paywall before you tap confirm. If they are not there, you pay today.
- Cancel at least 24 hours before the trial ends. The FAQ gives this advice, and the App Store description says renewal is charged "within 24-hours prior to the end of the current period."
- Expect the full plan price on day 8. If you picked the annual plan, that means $119.99 at once.
Refunds: "All purchases are non-refundable"
Welling's terms of service, last updated August 1, 2023, are short on this point: "All purchases are non-refundable." The same section says cancellation "will take effect at the end of the current paid term."
The FAQ adds that "refunds are handled directly by Apple Support," because payments go through the App Store. It does not mention Google Play, even though Welling sells on Android too.
So your options depend on where you paid:
- iPhone: request a refund at reportaproblem.apple.com, as Apple explains on its refund support page. Apple decides; Welling does not.
- Android: Google Play lets you request a refund for some purchases through its refund help page.
Two more details in the terms are worth knowing. First, they say payments are in Singapore dollars and list card and PayPal payment, which describes a website checkout I could not find. Store purchases follow Apple and Google rules instead. Second, they say users must be 18 or older. The App Store rates the app 18+, while Google Play rates it "Everyone."
If you think you were charged by mistake, email [email protected] first. The terms invite this: "If you have any questions or are unsatisfied with our Services, please email us."
How to cancel Welling on iPhone and Android
Welling's FAQ says subscription management "is handled directly by Apple." The terms say you can cancel "by logging into your account," but the FAQ and the store listings point to the store, so use the store.
iPhone or iPad:
- Open Settings.
- Tap your name, then Subscriptions.
- Tap Welling.
- Tap Cancel Subscription and confirm.
Android:
- Open the Google Play Store app.
- Tap your profile picture, then Payments and subscriptions, then Subscriptions.
- Tap Welling, then Cancel subscription, as Google describes in its cancel help page.
Deleting the app does not cancel. Deleting your account (Account, then Delete Account, per the FAQ) removes your data permanently and does not cancel either. Cancel first, then delete.
IMPORTANT
Checkpoint: the money rules are covered.
Now for what the subscription buys, and what the people paying for it say.
⏱️ Progress 2/4 • ~6 minutes in • Keep going
✅ Step 1: The price list and a year of costs (done)
✅ Step 2: Trial, refunds and canceling (done)
👉 Step 3: Features, reviews and research (current)
⏳ The FAQ line Welling's own June update contradicts (next)
What Welling Premium includes
Since there is no free tier, Premium is the whole app. Welling's FAQ and store listings describe:
- Chat logging. Type or dictate what you ate, and the AI estimates calories and macros. You can backdate ("Yesterday I had...") and correct ("I only ate half").
- Photo logging. Photos of meals and of nutrition labels, with a Label Mode. Most AI trackers now work this way; our meal scan guide shows how the same step looks in NutriScan.
- Barcode scanning. The FAQ says it is "currently optimized for foods found in the United States." Both store listings credit the FatSecret nutrition API.
- A calorie and macro plan. Lose weight, build muscle or keep fit, with adjustable calorie and macro targets.
- Coaching chat. Ask what to eat, request meal plans, or ask for restaurant suggestions near you.
- Apple Health sync for steps, workouts and weight.
- Fiber, sodium and sugar tracking alongside calories and macros.
And what it does not do, per the same FAQ:
- No full vitamin and mineral panel. "A full vitamin and mineral panel is not supported yet."
- No fasting tracker. "Welling does not currently support fasting schedules."
- No data import. The FAQ says: "Welling does not currently support the import or export of nutrition data." Hold on to the export half of that sentence. It comes back near the end of this guide.

Photo logging in practice: one picture of the plate, and the app estimates the rest.
What users say about the Welling app
The US App Store listing showed 4.8 stars from 1,493 ratings on October 14, 2026 (version 7.4, released October 13, 2026). Welling's website shows "4.8/5.0 (6,500+ ratings)," which counts every country; Singapore alone has about 1,300. On Google Play, the app had 4.3 stars from 549 reviews and 10K+ downloads.
The 50 most recent US reviews in Apple's review feed, back to September 2024, are more mixed than the 4.8 suggests. The 5-star reviews praise the chat format and fast logging, and several came from people who switched from MyFitnessPal. The complaints repeat four themes:
- Price. An August 2026 review: "IT COST, $23.00 a month!!! Or $120.00 a year." Another from August 2026 says the reviewer owed "$22.99 a month after 7 days."
- Paywall after setup. Several reviews say the app asked many setup questions before showing the price.
- Estimate accuracy. A June 2025 reviewer checked meals against packaging and found the app "consistently under counted or over counted." A February 2026 review says the same meal entered twice can return two different macro totals.
- Limits and bugs. A June 2026 reviewer hit the message "You have reached your limit of 200 chats for the day." Other reviews mention crashes, logs not saving and trouble correcting entries. One Google Play review describes asking the app to add dressing to a salad and getting "a WHOLE NEW SALAD."
On accuracy, Welling's Lose It comparison cites its own "published internal testing across 15,000 meals" with "95.6 percent food identification accuracy." That is the company's own figure. In the video review Welling summarizes, Dr. Marc Morris put photo logging at "80 to 90%" and text or voice "closer to 90%" (Welling's summary). Neither is an independent study.
What the research says about tracking apps and AI estimates
Welling sells two ideas: logging should be easy, and AI can estimate a meal from a photo or a sentence. Here is what studies say about both.
- Tracking is linked to weight loss. A 2021 systematic review of 39 randomized trials found greater digital self-monitoring was linked to weight loss in 74% of the cases it examined, but few programs kept people logging on at least 75% of days (Patel et al., 2021).
- People stop logging food sooner than they stop tracking activity. In a technology-based weight loss program, people stopped logging their diet after a median of 10 weeks, compared with 19.5 weeks for activity tracking. Extra contact from a human interventionist kept diet logging going longer (Carpenter et al., 2022).
- Simpler logging gets done more often. In a small pilot of 38 adults, those asked to log only high-calorie foods did so on a median of 97% of days, against 49% for those logging everything (Patel et al., 2022).
- AI photo estimates improve with context. A 2025 study of 195 dishes tested ChatGPT-5 on food photos. Errors dropped when the model also got descriptions and ingredient lists, and rose when the photo was removed (Rodríguez-Jiménez et al., 2025). Welling's FAQ gives the same advice: add details in the photo caption.
- Database apps can be accurate for calories. A validation study of MyFitnessPal found cleaned entries correlated at r=0.96 with a reference food composition database for energy intake, but only 0.53 for sodium (Evenepoel et al., 2020).
- Even labels are not exact. In 24 US snack foods, measured calories were a median 4.3% higher than the label stated (Jumpertz et al., 2013). An app that copies the label carries that error too.
So easier logging is a real benefit if it keeps you logging past the 10-week mark. But AI estimates of mixed meals still carry error, and you should check a few meals yourself.

Who Welling is worth paying for
Good fit: you have quit database trackers because searching for foods felt slow, you eat a lot of mixed or Asian dishes, and you like asking questions in a chat. Welling's App Store description says it has a "Vast database of Asian and International foods," and several reviewers agree.
Fair fit: you want an AI coach and can live without micronutrients, fasting or data import. Take the trial, then pick the annual plan if you stay, since monthly costs $275.88 a year at the top price.
Poor fit: you want a free tier, or you weigh food and need exact numbers. Our Cal AI alternatives roundup lists AI photo trackers with different pricing models.
IMPORTANT
Checkpoint: one stop left.
You have the prices, the rules and the reviews. The FAQ line is next.
⏱️ Progress 3/4 • ~10 minutes in • Keep going
✅ Step 1: The price list and a year of costs
✅ Step 2: Trial, refunds and canceling
✅ Step 3: Features, reviews and research
✨ The FAQ line Welling's own June update contradicts (about to reveal)
The FAQ line Welling's own update contradicts
Welling's FAQ still says: "Welling does not currently support the import or export of nutrition data." For a paid-only app, that would mean your food log stays locked inside once you stop paying.
The app's own release notes say otherwise. In the version history on the US App Store listing, the notes for version 6.29, released June 21, 2026, read: "Data Export: You can now export your data into a neat pdf or csv."
Here is how the two pages line up on October 14, 2026:
| Question | FAQ | App Store release notes |
|---|---|---|
| Can you export your food log? | No | Yes, as PDF or CSV since version 6.29 |
| Can you import from another app? | No | Not mentioned |
| Does export work after your plan ends? | Not stated | Not stated |
The release notes describe the app you download today, so export exists and the FAQ is out of date on that point. Import is still unsupported, which means a MyFitnessPal or Lose It history will not carry over.
The third row is the one that matters with a subscription-only app. Neither page says whether you can still export after a subscription lapses. So export your log as a CSV before you cancel, while your plan is still active.
How to try Welling without overpaying: 5 steps
- Read the paywall before you finish setup. Welling asks for your goals and body data first and shows the plans after. Check which plan is selected and whether it says free trial before you confirm.
- Pick a plan with a trial. Welling's FAQ says free trials are typically offered on longer plans. If the plan you pick shows no trial, you pay on day one.
- Set a reminder for day 5. Cancel at least 24 hours before the 7-day trial ends. Apple and Google charge the full plan price when the trial converts.
- Test the meals you actually eat. Log 10 of your usual meals by photo and by text, and check a few against a nutrition label or a kitchen scale before you decide.
- Export, then cancel in the store. Save your log as a CSV while the plan is active. On iPhone go to Settings, your name, Subscriptions. On Android open Google Play, Payments and subscriptions, Subscriptions. Deleting the app or your account does not stop billing.
Tracking food with a free tier
If you want photo-based logging but not a paid-only app, NutriScan logs meals from a photo and returns calories, protein, carbs and fat for mixed plates. It also has NutriBites, a chat for food questions. The free tier covers 5 scans a week and Premium is about $59 a year; NutriScan's pricing is laid out the same way as this guide. To set calorie and macro targets before you pick any tracker, the macro calculator is free to use.

FAQ
Is Welling AI free?
No. The app is a free download, but both store listings say you need a subscription plan to use its features. In the US, Welling Premium is $22.99 a month or $119.99 a year at the top of the price list, and a 7-day free trial is offered on some plans.
How much does Welling cost per month?
The US App Store lists monthly Welling Premium at $22.99, $19.99 and $9.49, a 3-month plan at $39.99, and annual plans from $59.00 to $119.99. Which price you see depends on the offer shown in the app. The $119.99 annual plan works out to about $10 a month.
Does Welling have a free trial?
Usually. Welling's terms describe a 7-day free trial for new users, and its FAQ says trials are typically offered on longer plans. Some App Store reviewers say they were shown no trial, so check the paywall before you confirm.
Can I get a refund from Welling?
Welling's terms say all purchases are non-refundable, and its FAQ sends refund requests to Apple. On iPhone, request one at reportaproblem.apple.com. On Android, Google Play handles refunds. Neither store guarantees approval.
How do I cancel a Welling subscription?
On iPhone go to Settings, tap your name, then Subscriptions, then Welling. On Android open Google Play, tap your profile, then Payments and subscriptions, then Subscriptions. Deleting the app or your Welling account does not cancel the subscription.
IMPORTANT
Recap: your Welling pricing check is complete.
Save this for the day the paywall appears.
⏱️ Progress 4/4 • ~12 minutes in • Nicely done
✅ Step 1: The price list and a year of costs
✅ Step 2: Trial, refunds and canceling
✅ Step 3: Features, reviews and research
✅ The FAQ says no export, but version 6.29 added PDF and CSV export, so export before you cancel (revealed)
ChatGPT
Claude
AI Mode
Perplexity 