Skip to content

Is Nutri AI Free? Nutri AI Pricing and Trial Explained

Written by NutriScan TeamApp ComparisonNutrition Tips

Nutri AI app pricing, paid subscription tiers versus the free versions of other apps called Nutri AI

As a NutriScan nutritionist, I checked the Nutri AI listing with the most reviews, 379 ratings at 4.7 stars on the US App Store, and it states in capital letters that the app "requires a paid subscription to access all features, including food scanning analysis results" (Nutri AI: Calorie Tracker, App Store). So the short answer to "is Nutri AI free" is no. The longer answer is more useful, because "Nutri AI" is not one app. I counted seven different developers selling apps under that name in August 2026, and their pricing runs from free with ads to $59.99 a year. This post sorts them out, prices each one, and tells you what to check before you tap Subscribe. 📊

IMPORTANT

Your Nutri AI pricing plan at a glance.

Four things to settle before you tap Subscribe on any app with this name.

⏱️ Progress 0/4 • ~0 minutes in • Keep going

⏳ Step 1: What the main Nutri AI app charges and when the trial bills you

⏳ Step 2: Which of the seven Nutri AI apps you are actually looking at

⏳ Step 3: Whether paying for a tracker changes your results

🔍 The privacy label that reads differently on iOS and Android for the same app (revealed near the end)

The short answer: the main Nutri AI app is not free

The app most people mean is Nutri AI: Calorie Tracker, published by Ratio Labs on iOS and by Tendar UG, a company registered in Schönefeld, Germany, on Android. Both listings point to the same website, nutriai.health. It has 379 ratings at 4.7 stars on the US App Store and 116 reviews at 4.9 stars on Google Play, with the Play listing showing 1,000+ downloads (Nutri AI: Calorie Tracker, Google Play).

Both listings carry the same disclosure: a paid subscription is required to access all features, including the results of a food scan. You can install the app free and complete the onboarding questions, but the core product, photo-based calorie estimation, sits behind the paywall.

The review record fills in what the listing leaves out. Several one-star reviews describe the same sequence: install, answer the lifestyle questions, then hit a subscription screen. One reviewer writes that the app "blocked me out on this pay $20 a month screen." Another says the offer was "7 to 29 dollars" and asks the developer to "put the free trial up first to not waste my time." Two separate reviews mention a 3-day trial, one warning that "3 days won't tell me if it is" good, the other saying they were charged after trying to cancel it.

So if your question is whether you can log meals by photo in Nutri AI without paying, the answer is no beyond the trial.

Man frowning at his phone screen, confused by what he is readingEvery Nutri AI review that mentions the paywall starts with this face

Nutri AI subscription prices in 2026

The US App Store lists nine in-app purchases, all named "Unlimited" (checked August 2026):

In-app purchasePrice (USD)Period
Unlimited (1 Month)$9.99monthly
Unlimited (1 Month)$12.99monthly
Unlimited (1 Year)$14.99yearly
Unlimited (1 Year)$19.99yearly
Unlimited (1 Year)$24.99yearly
Unlimited (1 Year)$29.99yearly
Unlimited (Annual)$39.99yearly
Unlimited (Annual)$49.99yearly
Unlimited (Annual)$59.99yearly

Nine prices for one product means the app runs pricing experiments. Which one you see depends on the offer variant you are assigned, your country, and whether you dismiss the first screen. The reviewer who quoted "7 to 29 dollars" was likely looking at a monthly offer and a discounted annual offer side by side. The reviewer who saw "$20 a month" may have seen a regional price or a variant not on the US listing.

My practical reading of the table: expect the app to ask for $9.99 to $12.99 a month, or somewhere between $14.99 and $59.99 a year. The four-times spread on the annual price is the widest I have seen on an AI calorie app listing, wider than the ten-price Cal AI listing I documented earlier this year. For contrast, Fitia sells the same job at five fixed prices with a permanent free tier underneath.

IMPORTANT

Checkpoint: here's where you are right now.

You know the main app's price band and how the trial bills. Next is the harder question: which app is it?

⏱️ Progress 1/4 • ~2 minutes in • Keep going

✅ Step 1: What the main app charges (done)

👉 Step 2: Which of the seven apps you are looking at (you're here)

⏳ Step 3: Whether paying changes results

🧩 The mismatched privacy label (coming soon)

Start NutriScan onboarding to personalize your plan

What the paid tier includes

The listing does not publish a free-versus-paid feature table, so this is assembled from the store descriptions, the version history and the website:

  • AI photo recognition of meals with calories, protein, carbs and fat
  • Barcode scanner for packaged foods (added in version 1.5, October 2025)
  • Nutrition label scanner (added in version 1.8, December 2025)
  • Manual meal entry and a basic product search
  • Weight tracking (added in version 2.0, December 2025) and water tracking
  • Progress dashboard and weekly statistics
  • English and German interface, with the app store listing the German food search as a specific fix in the August 2026 update
  • A home screen widget

The version history is worth reading before you pay because it is active. Version 2.3.0 shipped in August 2026 with fixes for calorie goals, onboarding weight ranges, barcode portions, meal editing and crashes. It also states that the developer "stopped promotional pushes for trial and subscribed users," which tells you that promotional notifications were a complaint until recently.

Two reviews describe onboarding bugs that the same update claims to fix. One user weighing 284 pounds could not select a starting weight above 279. Another was assigned a target of 18 calories a day. Both are the kind of bug that would have ended a 3-day trial before the user saw the scanning feature at all.

Seven apps called Nutri AI, and what each one costs

This is the part no store search makes clear. When you type "Nutri AI" into the App Store you get a column of near-identical names from unrelated developers. Here is every one I could verify on the US App Store in August 2026, with its own pricing:

App nameDeveloperFree tierPaid prices (USD)
Nutri AI: Calorie TrackerRatio Labs / Tendar (Germany)No, 3-day trial$9.99 to $12.99 a month, $14.99 to $59.99 a year
Nutri.ai (AI Calorie and Weight Tracker)Nikolas WeichertNot stated$9.99 a month, $54.99 a year
Nutri.AI: Food Calorie CounterKhushi LakhaniNot stated$4.99 to $6.99 a week, $29.99 to $44.99 a year, or 100 credits for $17.99 and 200 for $24.99
Nutri AI - Smart Food TrackerAhmed Elnoor (getnutriai.app)Yes, limited scans$9.99 a month, $49.99 a year
Calorie Tracker: NutriAIJonata OliveiraYes, with ads$2.99 a week, $8.99 a month, $49.99 a year
Nutri AI: Food and Symptom LogMatheus Mello (trynutriai.com)First scans free, 7-day trial$4.99 a week, $9.99 a month, $39.99 a year
Nutri.AI Calorie Tracker (Android)TTW Development (Hong Kong)"Free to start"In-app purchases, prices not listed

Bar chart of the lowest and highest annual price for six apps named Nutri AI on the US App Store, from $14.99 to $59.99 for the Ratio Labs app and $29.99 to $54.99 for the restFigure 1: Annual price by app. Only the Ratio Labs app and the Khushi Lakhani app list more than one yearly price; the others charge a single rate.

A few things stand out from that table.

The credits model is unusual. Nutri.AI: Food Calorie Counter sells 100 credits for $17.99 or 200 for $24.99 alongside its subscriptions, and the description text quotes $4.99 a week and $29.99 a year while the in-app purchase list shows $6.99 a week and $44.99 a year. When the description and the purchase list disagree, the purchase list is what Apple bills.

The two apps with real free tiers are the smaller ones. Calorie Tracker: NutriAI states that it is "free to use with ads" and that Premium removes the ads and adds personalized plans. Nutri AI - Smart Food Tracker describes a Pro upgrade for unlimited scans, which implies a scan limit on the free version, though the listing does not say how many. Neither has enough ratings for the App Store to show a score.

The Food and Symptom Log version is a different product entirely: a photo food diary that logs how you felt after each meal and looks for patterns. Its August 2026 update notes mention a 7-day trial and a new weekly plan at $4.99.

And the Android app from TTW Development is not the same company as the Android app from Tendar, even though both are called Nutri AI Calorie Tracker with a dot or a space as the only visible difference. Check the developer name under the title before you install.

IMPORTANT

Checkpoint: midway progress update.

You can now tell the seven apps apart by developer. Halfway there.

⏱️ Progress 2/4 • ~4 minutes in • Keep going

✅ Step 1: What the main app charges (done)

✅ Step 2: Which of the seven apps you are looking at (done)

👉 Step 3: Whether paying changes results (current)

⏳ The mismatched privacy label (next)

Does paying for a calorie tracker help you lose weight?

Price only matters if the app changes your results, so it is worth asking what the research says about paid versus free.

A 2026 scoping review of 68 studies covering 46 calorie-counting apps found that cost was one of the primary factors in how people chose an app, that most participants preferred free apps, and that the authors list app cost as a barrier to adherence in their recommendations to developers (Dugas et al., 2026). The same review documents how fast logging fades: self-monitoring with MyFitnessPal dropped from 5.4 to 1.4 days a week between weeks 4 and 12 in one of the included studies.

That fade is the real risk with a paywalled app. If you pay $49.99 for a year and stop logging in week 6, the subscription did not buy you anything. A 2025 meta-analysis of 11 randomized trials with 1,717 participants found that smartphone apps produce a modest but statistically significant reduction in body weight and BMI over 4 to 6 months, and that the effect fades beyond 6 months as weight regain sets in (Pujia et al., 2025).

What predicts success is consistency. In the SMARTER trial of 502 adults, higher adherence to self-monitoring of diet, activity and weight was associated with greater odds of losing at least 5% of body weight over 12 months (Burke et al., 2025). The apps in that trial were only the tools. The daily logging habit did the work.

Read together, the research does not say paid apps are worse. It says the app you keep opening is the one that works, and a 3-day trial is a short window to find out whether you will keep opening this one.

5 tips before you subscribe to Nutri AI

  1. Confirm the developer before anything else. Look for Ratio Labs on iOS or Tendar on Android if you want the app with 379 ratings. A different name under the title is a different product with different pricing and different privacy terms. 📱
  2. Screenshot the price on the confirmation sheet. With nine prices named "Unlimited," the Apple or Google payment sheet is the only place the term and the renewal price are guaranteed to appear together. Reviewers who felt tricked by "7 to 29 dollars" were reading the in-app offer, not the sheet.
  3. Treat the 3-day trial as 3 days. Apple and Google charge at the end of the trial unless you cancel at least 24 hours before it ends. Set a reminder for the day you subscribe, not the day before it ends.
  4. Scan your three hardest meals during the trial. A mixed curry, a homemade sandwich and a restaurant plate will tell you more about the scanner than three bowls of oatmeal. If the results need heavy editing, the paid tier will not fix that.
  5. Decide what you would pay for a year, then wait for that number. The annual price spans $14.99 to $59.99 on the same listing. If the first offer you see is $59.99, closing the screen and reopening the app later often produces a different one.

Man thinking hard, then giving a thumbs upScreenshot the confirmation sheet first, then tap

IMPORTANT

Checkpoint: final stretch before the reveal.

Cancel steps are next, then the privacy label detail I promised at the top.

⏱️ Progress 3/4 • ~6 minutes in • Keep going

✅ Step 1: What the main app charges

✅ Step 2: Which of the seven apps you are looking at

✅ Step 3: Whether paying changes results

✨ The mismatched privacy label (about to reveal)

How to cancel Nutri AI or request a refund

Because billing runs through the stores, the developer cannot cancel or refund you directly, and emailing support will not stop a renewal.

On iPhone: open Settings, tap your name, tap Subscriptions, select Nutri AI and tap Cancel Subscription. The app stays usable until the current period ends. To ask for money back on a charge you did not intend, use Apple's report a problem page; Apple decides each request individually and does not guarantee a refund (Apple Support: Request a refund).

On Android: open the Play Store, tap your profile picture, then Payments and subscriptions, then Subscriptions, select Nutri AI and cancel. Refund requests for a subscription charge go through the Play Store order history within 48 hours of the charge; after that, the request goes to the developer (Google Play Help: Request a refund).

One review on the main app's listing describes still owing money after a forced cancellation of the 3-day trial. That is the scenario the 24-hour rule exists to prevent: canceling on the last day of a trial, after the renewal has already been queued, can leave the charge in place.

Start NutriScan onboarding to personalize your plan

The privacy label that changes with the store you install from

You have been patient. This is the part that decides which store you should install from, and it is the reason the developer line matters more than the app name.

On the US App Store, Ratio Labs declares only anonymous usage data for the main Nutri AI app, and the description says data is stored on your device. The Google Play data safety section for the same app tells a different story: it says the app may collect and share "personal info, financial info and 4 others" with third parties. Those two labels are self-reported by the developer, and they describe the same product. I cannot tell you which one is accurate, only that they do not match, and that you should read the one for the platform you use.

The other apps have their own labels. Nikolas Weichert's Nutri.ai declares identifiers and usage data used to track you across other companies' apps, plus advertising data linked to your identity (Nutri.ai, App Store). The Khushi Lakhani app declares tracking identifiers and advertising data, and its privacy policy is hosted on a free blog page. If you are logging your body weight and every meal, the privacy label is part of the price.

Where NutriScan fits

I work on NutriScan, so read this section with that in mind. Both apps lead with photo logging. The models differ in where the paywall sits. Nutri AI puts food scan results behind a subscription from the start, with a 3-day trial to decide. NutriScan's free plan includes 5 meal scans a week with no card and no trial clock, each with full macros, micronutrients and a NutriScore. Premium removes that cap and adds diet plans, a voice assistant and fasting tools, at about $59 a year. Our numbers are in the NutriScan pricing breakdown.

NutriScan meal scan crop screen showing food type tags and cooking method options, available on the free plan

Home > Camera Icon > Crop Picture. The scan result shows on the free plan without a trial clock.

If a free-forever photo tracker is what you want, the apps with genuine permanent free tiers are in my free AI calorie tracker roundup. If you are comparing paid AI scanners head to head, the Cal AI alternatives guide covers the field, including the options that let you scan before you pay.

The takeaway

IMPORTANT

Recap: everything you completed this round.

Four checks done. Save this before your next 3-day trial.

⏱️ Progress 4/4 • ~8 minutes in • Nicely done

✅ Step 1: What the main app charges

✅ Step 2: Which of the seven apps you are looking at

✅ Step 3: Whether paying changes results

✅ The mismatched privacy label (revealed)

Nutri AI, the one with 379 ratings and the nutriai.health website, is not free. It gives you a 3-day trial and then charges $9.99 to $12.99 a month or $14.99 to $59.99 a year, depending on which of nine "Unlimited" offers you are shown. Six other apps use the same name; two of them have free tiers, one sells scan credits, and all of them have different developers and different privacy labels. Before you pay any of them, confirm the developer, read the price on the store's confirmation sheet, and use the trial on the meals that are hardest to photograph. The research is consistent that the tracker you keep using is the one that works, and no subscription buys that for you. If you want to test photo logging without a trial clock at all, NutriScan's free plan is a two-minute install. 🍎

FAQ

Q: Is Nutri AI free?

No. Nutri AI: Calorie Tracker, the app most people find first, states on the App Store and Google Play that it requires a paid subscription to access all features, including food scanning results. You can install it and finish onboarding free, then a 3-day trial starts. Two smaller apps that share the name, Calorie Tracker: NutriAI and Nutri AI - Smart Food Tracker, do offer free tiers.

Q: Do you have to pay for Nutri AI?

For the main app, yes, once the 3-day trial ends. Installing, onboarding and the trial are free; the scan results, barcode scanner and progress dashboard then need an Unlimited subscription. Manual entry alone is not offered as a permanent free mode on the listing.

Q: How much does Nutri AI cost in 2026?

The US App Store lists nine "Unlimited" prices: $9.99 or $12.99 a month, and $14.99, $19.99, $24.99, $29.99, $39.99, $49.99 or $59.99 a year. The offer you see inside the app decides which one you pay. Reviewers report being shown a monthly and a discounted annual option together, quoted as "7 to 29 dollars."

Q: Does Nutri AI have a free trial?

Yes, a 3-day trial, according to multiple App Store reviews. It converts to a paid plan automatically. Cancel from your Apple or Google subscription settings at least 24 hours before the trial ends to avoid the charge.

Q: Which Nutri AI app is the real one?

None of them has a claim to the name. Seven developers publish apps called Nutri AI, Nutri.ai, Nutri.AI or NutriAI. The largest by ratings is Nutri AI: Calorie Tracker by Ratio Labs (iOS) and Tendar (Android), which share the website nutriai.health. Always check the developer name under the app title.

Q: Do I need a paid app to lose weight?

No. In a 12-month trial of 502 adults, consistent self-monitoring predicted losing at least 5% of body weight, whatever tool was used (Burke et al., 2025). A 2026 review of 68 studies also found most participants preferred free apps and named cost as a barrier to sticking with tracking (Dugas et al., 2026). Pick the app you will open every day, then pay only for a limit that is stopping you.

Download NutriScan to track your nutrition

Download App